Cork get revenge on Clare as Patrick Horgan dominates Munster semifinal

first_imgScorers for Cork: Patrick Horgan 2-11 (1-11f, 1-0 pen), Alan Cadogan, Daniel Kearney 0-3 each, Conor Lehane 0-2, Damien Cahalane, Aidan Walsh, William Egan, Paudie O’Sullivan 0-1 each.Scorers for Clare: Colin Ryan 0-6 (0-5f, 0-1 ’65), John Conlon 1-2, Darach Honan 1-0, Conor McGrath, Nicky O’Connell, Colm Galvin 0-2 each, Patrick Donnellan, Tony Kelly, Podge Collins, Cathal McInerney 0-1 each. Cork 2-23Clare 2-18PATRICK HORGAN FIRED 2-11 as Cork beat Clare by five points in Thurles this afternoon to advance to the Munster SHC final against Limerick on July 13.The Glen Rovers forward took over 20m free and penalty duties from Anthony Nash following the amendment to the rules of hurling this week and scored one of each to help as the Rebels gain some measure of revenge for last year’s All-Ireland final defeat.The first-half was a tense and fiercely contested affair with the sides level six times early on. Conor McGrath’s 25th minute point ensured they were locked together at 0-8 apiece before Cork upped the ante before the break.Horgan’s accuracy from frees and a long-range booming shot by Damien Cahalane helped them move into a 0-12 to 0-10 lead before Horgan slammed a 20-yard free to the net in the 33rd minute after Jack Browne had fouled Cadogan.Cork moved six points clear shortly after through Horgan but then Clare received a lifeline before the interval when Cork failed to clear their lines after a goalmouth scramble and John Conlon nipped in to whip the ball to the net.Clare cut the gap to two – 1-15 to 1-13 – early in the second-half before Cork hit a purple patch as they struck five unanswered points from Aidan Walsh, Horgan (2) and Daniel Kearney (2). Source: Cathal Noonan/INPHOThey were 1-20 to 1-13 clear by the 48th minute before Clare pulled back three points from Cathal McInerney, Nicky O’Connell and McGrath. But then Cork closed out the game with Horgan smashing home a penalty after Harnedy was fouled in the 59th minute. That sent them into a 2-20 to 1-16 lead and they pulled clear from there. Cadogan, Horgan and substitutes Paudie O’Sullivan and William Egan all chipped in with points.Clare grabbed a late goal from substitute Darach Honan but Cork held on for a five-point success to qualify for the Munster final on July 13th against Limerick. Source: James Crombie/INPHOCORK1. Anthony Nash (Kanturk)5. Christopher Joyce (Na Piarsaigh)2. Shane O’Neill (Bishopstown)4. Stephen McDonnell (Glen Rovers)3. Damien Cahalane (St Finbarr’s)6. Mark Ellis (Millstreet)7. Lorcan McLoughlin (Kanturk)8. Daniel Kearney (Sarsfields)9. Aidan Walsh (Kanturk)12. Seamus Harnedy (St Ita’s)11. Bill Cooper (Youghal)10. Conor Lehane (Midleton)15. Patrick Horgan (Glen Rovers)14. Patrick Cronin (Bishopstown – Captain)13. Alan Cadogan (Douglas)Subs23. Stephen Moylan (Douglas) for Cooper (59)19. William Egan (Kilbrin) for Kearney (59)26. Paudie O’Sullivan (Cloyne) for Harnedy (59)20. Eoin Cadogan (Douglas) for Ellis (67) Source: Cathal Noonan/INPHOCLARE1. Donal Tuohy (Crusheen)4. Jack Browne (Ballyea)2. David McInerney (Tulla)3. Cian Dillon (Crusheen)7. Patrick O’Connor (Tubber)6. Conor Ryan (Cratloe)5. Brendan Bugler (Whitegate)8. Colm Galvin (Clonlara)9. Pat Donnellan (O’Callaghan Mills)10. John Conlon (Clonlara)12. Colin Ryan (Newmarket-on-Fergus)21. Peter Duggan (Clooney-Quin)11. Tony Kelly (Ballyea)15. Conor McGrath (Cratloe)13. Podge Collins (Cratloe)Subs17. Seadna Morey (Sixmilebridge) for Browne (half-time)20. Nicky O’Connell (Clonlara) for Donnellan (47)23. Cathal McInerney (Cratloe) for Galvin (51)14. Darach Honan (Clonlara) for Conlon (63)Magnificent seven goals for Meath as they rout sorry CarlowMonaghan survive late wobble as McManus gamble pays offlast_img

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *