National Secondary Schools cricket tournament …

first_imgBerbice, Essequibo clash in final at Bourda todayBRACING for what promises to be an exciting final of the National Secondary Schools cricketSheldon Charlestournament today between Berbice and Essequibo Combined teams, the spinners will hold the key for success considering the spin-friendly conditions at the Georgetown Cricket Club ground.Spinners have enjoyed the conditions on offer throughout the tournament, and are likely to again play the lead roles in today’s clash.Both teams boast a number of match winners. The Berbice side includes nine players with national youth experience; middle-order batsmen Kevlon Anderson and Garfield Benjamin, wicketkeeper Junior Sinclair, all-rounders Seon Glasgow, Leon Swammy and Geevon Shultz, and left-arm orthodox spinners Kelvin Umroa, Nikeen Noble and Nigel Deodat.The squad also includes off-spinner Melvin Singh, Marvan Prashad, Alex Algu, Antonio February, Dinanauth Persaud, Christopher Harry and Nicholas Heywood.On the other hand, the Essequibo Combined team will depend heavily on skipper Orlando Jailall, Bomesh Ramdahin, Sheldon Charles and Badesh Parsotam. The remaining of the squad reads: Lance Roberts, Sevon Bess, Romario Stephen, Hemil Lam, Devendra Mohan, Sherlon Anthony, Mahendra Dindyal, David Chalitar, Jermin Gill and Arnol Adams.The Georgetown team will come from Ashmead Nedd, Sachin Singh, Alphius Bookie, wicketkeeper/batsman Yudister Persaud, all-rounder Dwayne Dick, and former West Indies Under-15 fast bowler Qumar Torrington.The other members are Dequan Bamfield, Juspice Jones, Adrian Hinds, Joel Spooner, Osapho Greene, Nkosi Beaton, Devon Allen, Wayne Bollers, Daniel Paul and Ghamshan Premsham.The game is scheduled to start at 09:30hrs.last_img

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *